John Ashbery remembers Tomaž Šalamun

Tomaž Šalamun

Back in December, I posted about the unfortunate passing of the Slovenian poet Tomaž Šalamun, and his deep connections to the New York School.  The current Artforum gathers a number of brief tributes to Šalamun, including the following from John Ashbery:

I knew Tomaž Šalamun over a long time, but saw him relatively briefly on widely spaced occasions. Each time he came to New York we would get together for a little blast of Slovenian mirth and Sloveno-American poetry. And then he would be gone, leaving me with the illusion that a close friend had just come and left on another brilliant voyage. He seemed to be at home everywhere. Perhaps even Ljubljana, which to my regret I have never seen. They say it’s beautiful and sophisticated and yet obscure and off-the-radar, terms that might also apply to Tomaž and his crackling poetry.

This entry was posted in John Ashbery, Tomaz Šalamun. Bookmark the permalink.